Catholic Schools - Praying for each other

Launch of Prayer Card

To help schools in the Derry Diocese to grow in 'Communion with Christ and one another' (the theme for the upcoming 50th International Eucharistic Congress), a new prayer card was launched at Mass in St Eugene's Cathedral, Derry to celebrate Catholic Schools' Week.

Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O' Connor, Archbishop Emeritus of Westminster and Monsignor Eamon Martin, Diocesan Administrator presented each school with a copy of the prayer card containing all the names of schools in the diocese.

Throughout the year schools in the diocese are invited to pray for one another reflecting that whilst there are many schools in the diocese of Derry, each with their own individual identity, they form one community deeply rooted in the person of Jesus Christ.

As St Paul says, "As the body is one, having many members, and all the members, while being many, form one body, so it in Christ." (1Corinthians 12:12, 13)


Prayer for Catholic Schools

Loving God
we thank you for the gift of faith that we have received
through the witness of our families, our schools and our parishes.
Bless our school communities,
unite us and help us always
to be the love and compassion of your Son, Jesus Christ.
Jesus tells us to ask and we will receive,
to seek and we will find,
to knock and the door will be opened. 
Help us always to know our need for you.
Open our hearts in prayer
so that we can become closer and closer to you.
We make this prayer through your Son,
our Saviour and brother, Jesus Christ our Lord.    Amen.


During the month of June we are praying for the following schools: 



St Patrick's PS Dunamanagh, St Patrick's Gortin, St Patrick's PS Maghera, St Patrick's PS Newtownstewart,

St Paul's College Kilrea, St Paul's PS Three Patrons, St Peter's & St Paul's PS Banagher,

St Peter's High School Derry, St Peter's PS Plumbridge, St Safan's NS Doneyloop, St Theresa's PS Sion Mills

St Therese's PS Three Patrons, Steelstown PS Derry, Termoncanice PS Limavady

Thornhill College Derry, Tiernasligo NS Clonmany, Urblereagh NS Malin